Sunday, January 11, 2009

18

I thought this deserved its own seperate post.

Last Monday this kid my friends are friends with (I've seen him around and I know his sister) ODed on Morphine. He was 18. Even though I didn't really know him it's upsetting just hearing about it. He was 18, thats just not fair, but life isn't fair and he made stupid decisions; morphine is not something to fuck around with (or any opiate for that matter). I feel so bad for his sister and family. Events like this really shake me up and make me think (more than I normally do, although that is hard), you never know what life is going to throw at you; I guess the only thing you can do is try to make the best decisions possible, hang on for the ride and be happy to be alive.

New Year Recap

So this is my first post of the New Year. I probably would have posted a lot more times if my computer did not epicly fail on me. I am thankful I got a smartphone recently because that has served as my computer (it even has MS Word! but I don't really use that).
Christmas break was pretty wonderful. I got to spend almost everyday with this girl that I really care about. That was definitely the best part. I wish I could see her everyday.
On the first Friday of break I went on an adventure to Brooklyn with that amazing girl and a few friends to see The Banned reunion show. It was the most incredible show I have ever been to in my life (not counting the time I saw Jethro Tull). My friend Bobby is in No One and the Somebodies, they played and they were awesome. The Banned was ridiculously good, I wish they were still together. Apparently they are related to my AP Euro teacher, who I saw there, probably the most random thing to ever happen to me considering who this teacher is.
Not that anyone should care, but I got a Zune to replace my old iPod, so far I like it better.
Something that is a little unsettling recently is that my girlfriend has decided to go to try out for a play at my school's rival all-boy prep school. I really do want to her to get the part that she wants (and deserves because she is talented), and I'm behind whatever she decides to do, I'm happy when shes happy. I'm not a selfish guy. I'm not really sure why it bothers me, but it does.